The Texas Legislature has passed laws
that allow citizens to carry concealed handguns for the protection of self, family and property. Obtaining a permit to carry
concealed in the State of Texas requires taking a 10 hour Concealed Handgun License Certification Course taught by an instructor
certified by the State of Texas to teach the class. The minimum requirements for the class have been defined by the Texas
State Department of Public Safety and covers the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, dispute resolution and applicable
laws regarding the use of force for defense.
In addition to the class, obtaining a permit to carry concealed in the State of Texas one must complete the course,
qualify with a handgun at the range, and pass a 50 question test. The applicant then applies and pays a fee to the State to
run a background check and complete the issuance of the license.
You need a basic knowledge of your handgun to qualify on the range, shooting center of mass a total of 50 rounds
at a B27 target from 9 feet, 21 feet, and 45 feet.
The licensee must recertify with the State every 5 years by taking a shorter recertification class and requalifying
on the range. After your third recertification it may not be necessary to recertify. Be sure to check with the Texas Department
of Public Safety to see if you need to take the class.
Private classes are
available. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org
We are proud members of the following organizations:
Texas Concealed Carry Instructors Association
|Texas Law Shield